Amber’s Goodreads review of The Dark Tower by Stephen King

I haven’t posted anything on here in maybe a year, huh (and wow, WordPress has changed a little, at last in the “making a post” format). Well, I haven’t been doing much writing, and though I’ve been posting my usual casual reading reviews on Goodreads, I haven’t been posting them here. I may post some of that backlog, we’ll see. Anyway, I’m sorry there hasn’t been much activity. I miss writing, and I really need to make some time for it. I’ve been busy finishing my A.S. in Baking and Pastry (got my diploma!) and working as a pastry chef in a small restaurant. Other projects have consumed my downtime. I know the bug will sweep me under again eventually, though. :) It always does.

And without further ado, my latest thing I’ve read lately:

The Dark Tower (The Dark Tower, #7)The Dark Tower by Stephen King

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Browsing the reviews, this seems like a “love it or hate it” installment. I still found it compelling and readable, even though the author self-insertion could be seen as a bit self-indulgent. Kind of a mind-f*ck ending, though I could’ve done without the “are you sure you want to know what he finds?” teasing. I couldn’t decide if it was King’s way of trying to spare us or his “screw you” to people who would’ve bitched about him ending it earlier (it seemed kind of like both, at least in how the narrative voice presents it).

And now, some SPOILERS:
-Eddie was my favorite, so I was super disappointed when he died. And poor Jake! How many times does that kid have to get run over?
-I do like how Susannah got the eff out into an alternate world with Eddie and Jake in it, to live out somewhat of a normal life rather than allow herself to be sacrificed in Roland’s quest – especially within spitting distance of accomplishing it. Poor gal’s gone through enough.
-I actually took a sort of wry pleasure in there not being a bigger showdown with Mordred. If King had just killed off spider boy with dysentery or whatever he was ailing from, before he even got to attack Roland, I would’ve taken pleasure in that subverting of expectations too (though the “constant readers” might’ve howled and called it a cop-out).
-As deus ex machina as “The Artist” was, good solution, man.

And now I want to read all the books in bold in the list at the front of the book that are related somehow to The Dark Tower series. Considering I couldn’t force myself into Salem’s Lot years ago, I’m not sure of my chances. Aside from this series, the only King book I really enjoyed is Carrie. Everyone also says that his writing in this series is very different from his usual, so if I like it, I may not like the rest as much. Still, very glad I read it and I got a lot of enjoyment out of it. What an imagination.

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on April 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
