Amber’s Goodreads review of The Warrior’s Apprentice by Lois McMaster Bujold

The Warrior's Apprentice (Vorkosigan Saga, #2)The Warrior’s Apprentice by Lois McMaster Bujold

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay, I’m hooked. Yes, I liked Cordelia’s arc a little more, but Miles is a riot. Just as fun to read as his mother, really. He’s a genius. I saw another review complaining of a lot of deus ex machina, but as a writer I know you’re building a series of events and of course they’re going to form to where the story needs to go. Maybe I can just suspend my disbelief more easily or I was thrilled enough by the lucky turns and didn’t notice. Anyway, yes Miles always lands on his feet somehow, but not without a lot of flailing around on the way, and that makes him human enough to appeal to me. The kid has some charisma, but I guess it’s from having to rely on smarts and charm instead of physical ability and good looks (I think Cordelia said in the epilogue of Barrayar that he honed his charm during the time he spent before being able to actually walk).

As to the unrequited romance, it’s actually kind of refreshing to not see the hero “get the girl” (even if it’d have more meaning if he was a traditionally handsome lead instead of “scrawny deformed guy” more likely to be “friend-zoned”) and how he deals with it (with some minor jealous slip-ups) pretty maturely impressed me. Elena’s growth was also great to see.

In any case, I’ll keep on with the series until it gets annoying or stops being good or whatever, but I’m curious to read the further adventures of Miles. In the meantime, I want to reread Shards of Honor now from the perspective of someone who knows how it turns out for Cordelia and Aral. Some characters that seemed incidental at the time are ones I’ve now gotten to know, so I’d like to see them “for the first time” again.

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on March 13, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
