Amber’s Goodreads review of The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

The Last Unicorn (The Last Unicorn, #1)The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this ebook, which I got in a Humble Bundle (I don’t think I’ve gotten a book so far through that avenue that I haven’t enjoyed). I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it had great imagination, some humor, whimsy, and emotion. I really cared about the characters. I can see where a couple of other authors may have been inspired (I would bet Terry Pratchett got at least a little of Discworld’s Rincewind from fellow inept wizard Schmendrick, and the whole tone of the story reminded me a lot of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust). I also wonder if the makers of Red Bull have any idea about the Red Bull in this book.

In any case, it’s a fun read, and I’d like to read it to a kid someday. It was bundled with a sort of short story sequel, Two Hearts, which was a great little addition. It isn’t kiddie fairytale but neither is it really mature, grown-up sword-and-sorcery. I think all ages would enjoy it.

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on March 13, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
