Amber’s Goodreads review of Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender's Game (Ender's Saga, #1)Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Orson Scott Card might be a douchebag as a human being, but he can write a good book. I really enjoyed Ender’s Game. I’m not sure if I’ll check out any of the sequels, but it works as a stand-alone. It kept me reading and I finished it pretty fast. There were a few weird things I’ll mention just for fun:

-I’m never so thrown by kids talking “too smart for their age” and it was established that these were extraordinarily intelligent and gifted kids, but there is a sort of stilted way that everyone talks, but it’s very consistent with the period’s sci fi so I barely noticed. What did irritate me is that slang. Jeez, I cringed. It’s almost racist.
-The NAMES. One of the kids is named Dink Meeker. Really?
-I haven’t seen the movie (which I hear is really good) but I wonder if “Peter and Valentine take over the world” bit made the cut.
-Not sure if the whole thing is the author’s wish-fulfillment (a lot of people say so, but readers are notoriously apt to attribute tons of an author’s characters’ traits and views to the author him/herself, and as an author I know this is a huge fallacy) but I do get the sense that Card was bullied as a kid. Then again, tons of us are, so no points for that observation.

Overall, I’m glad I knocked another classic that it seems everyone read as a kid but me (how did I miss it, I wonder?) off the list.

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on November 23, 2013.

One Response to “Amber’s Goodreads review of Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card”

  1. Good review Amber. Even though I really love the first book, the Ender books get progressively better as you go along.

Leave a Reply

 
