Amber’s Goodreads review of A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, #3)A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m noticing that this volume got higher reviews than the first two. I think there’s a reason for that: a lot of my friends quit after the first one, and the rest after the second. It depressed them, they said, or they got so mad at the injustice of everything and how horrible people were to each other that they couldn’t go on.

Maybe I like it dark, or maybe it’s because of how fascinating Martin makes his world and characters, but I was glued to the machinations. Every time a chapter ended, I had to fight the urge to flip again to the next chapter with that character’s POV and see what happened. It’s a really good page-turning strategy.

So much happened in this one, and believe it or not some justice gets served. I kind of wish my friends had stuck with it because of that. It’s all a cycle, of course. It reminds me a lot of Norse sagas, and I bet Martin got some inspiration from those stories. Life is like that. Like Littlefinger told Sansa way back when, life is not a song. I think most of the people who dislike this series expect fantasy that’s a little more ideal, and that’s okay. Me, I love the drama of it all and I look forward to reading the next one.

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on September 11, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
