Amber’s Goodreads Review of A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m hooked. After all the hoopla with the TV show, seeing a lot of stuff about it in Tumblr and, let’s face it, in every facet of online pop culture, I had to see what all the fuss was about. Where was I when this came out in 1996? Oh yeah, face-down in the Dragonlance section. Anyway, better late than never and at least I’m jumping on board when Martin (inspired by the commercial success, no doubt – smart man) has decided to continue on with the series.

So I borrowed this from a friend, and I liked it well enough to go out and buy the series up to present (aside from the latest hardcover, which costs as much as the rest put together – I’ll take a chance on the paperback coming out by the time I finish the rest). How’s that for a recommendation? And no, I don’t just like it because all the “cool kids” do – you don’t see the Twilight series on my list of faves, do you? I like it because it’s interesting, there are some clever world-building aspects, and despite the enormous list of characters (it seems every “extra” has a name), I really sincerely care about many of them and am curious to see how things turn out. I know I’m in for some disappointment, as Martin takes the “kill your darlings” writing advice to the extreme, but you have to admit it’s a ballsy move. I think this quote, from Sansa’s POV, says it best: “There are no heroes … in life, the monsters win.” This hard truth has turned many off, but I like it dark, so I’m taking a chance. As a fellow writer, I know the appeal of sending characters, even beloved characters, through the wringer. Maybe I’ll get a vicarious thrill.

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on July 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
