First draft of Obscura is DONE!

See, told ya I wasn’t actually abandoning this one ;P I finished writing the end in my notebook this morning, and just finished typing it into the rest of the manuscript and emailing it to Kris a few minutes ago. Whew! I may not have finished it in November, but finishing it in this short of time is a record for me. Usually I get stuck, put it down for a few months, feel guilty, pick it back up again, etc.

I have Kris to thank for a lot of that: he helped me with brainstorming and plot suggestions when I got stuck, and helped talk me through some of the challenges. I couldn’t have done it without him.

Now I get a little time off. He gave me some beginning feedback on the first book, Negatives, but I’m going to take a little time to rest before diving into that. He’s going to apply his editing skills to that, and I’ll begin revising and rewriting that with an eye to hopefully cleaning it up enough that I can publish it. I’m hoping to scrape the money together to hire a professional editor – Kris is making the first pass for practice, but he’s still in training, so it’ll be educational for us both to see how a pro handles it.

So, Obscura may be on the shelf for a while, but that’s good, because then I’ll have a nice mental break to give me a fresh perspective on it when I get to it.

In other news, I finished out the last days of my job and will be starting school the week after next. I’m not sure how heavy the workload will be, but hopefully I’ll have time to do some writing (and posting) of writing exercises again. I hear SNHU has a creative writing club; I might check that out. It would be good to have other writers to workshop with.

~ by Amber on January 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
