Finishing Apertures, starting Obscura, and tackling NaNo

Hey! Sorry I haven’t posted anything but book reviews for a while. My morning writing sessions haven’t really been enough time to get into anything: as soon as I do, I have to leave for work. :P But I have been doing a few things.

Kris is back to school to train for a new career as an editor and hopefully an indie publisher, and in the meantime he’s acting as my editor for the Negatives series to gain some experience. We do a lot of brainstorming together and he’s informally edited my stuff a little before, so this makes perfect sense to me. While he’s giving Negatives a look, I’m trying to finally finish the first draft (even though I’ve rewritten it several times, I still haven’t managed to complete the manuscript) of the sequel, Apertures.

When I wrote Negatives, I had no idea it would even have a sequel. It can pretty much stand on its own. But one day while I was driving to work, listening to music (this is when the muse tends to butt in and release a flood of emotions, thoughts, and ideas into my brain) I got the idea for Apertures.

As Kris and I were brainstorming, trying to hash out the plot mess I had made in Apertures as I tried to figure out just what should be going on, I started thinking of another sequel. Once I figured out where Apertures was going and what would happen up through the endgame, I realized it couldn’t end there.

So as of now I have about a page summary of a general idea of what I want to happen in the next book, which I’m calling Obscura for now. Obscura is from camera obscura, the precursor to the cameras and photographs we know today. We’ve been calling the secret society of those with Jane’s sort of powers “The Apertures,” but that’s not what they call themselves.

Initially I was going to finish the rough of Apertures and then hash through editing Negatives with Kris’s help, but he doesn’t want me to lose momentum now that I’m in rough draft mode and that I have an idea about the next book. He’s challenged me to do Obscuras for National Novel Writing Month in November. I’ve never done it before, and I know that last year I wrote a post about how it’s okay not to do it, but I think I’m going to give it a shot. I don’t plan on signing up officially, but I’m going to try my hardest to get a full, rough draft of book three by the end of November. I may have to skip daily workouts and spend lunch breaks scribbling in my notebook, but I’m going to make a go of it. Even if what I end up with is lousy, at least it’s a place to start.

Today I typed up what I wrote in my notebook yesterday for Apertures: it includes some of older drafts, for a total of 5k+ words. I’m closing in on the endgame. Then it’s on to Obscura. Wish me luck! :)

~ by Amber on October 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
