Amber’s Goodreads review of Rx – Episode 2: The Reservoir

Nothing like a day job to completely derail my “posting consistently with more content” resolution, eh? I have been writing but every weekend I could use to type up/revise one of my morning half-hour exercise scrawlings has been taken up with outings and social events wall-to-wall. Okay, maybe Sunday night, but all I wanted to do was unpack and watch some anime instead.

Maybe I’ll steal an evening this week, or maybe next weekend will be better? No idea, but have a book review instead. This is the second installment of this one.

Rx - Episode 2: The ReservoirRx – Episode 2: The Reservoir by Robert Brockway

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m still enjoying it, still getting that “like William Gibson’s good stuff” vibe, but there are a few downsides to this installment format:

1. I’m impatient and want to read the whole thing at once.
2. It ends up being like a book I put down and haven’t touched for several months and then picked up again. I almost felt I had to reread part one first to get my bearings again. Maybe the way around this is by waiting to buy until they’re all out.
3. The first part of a novel introduces the characters, their world, and the Problem. That’s interesting by default, if you do it right. The middle part is getting everyone where they need to be and escalating the Problem so that the climax can happen in part three. The problem with middles is sometimes it can feel like “just waiting for something to happen.”

Luckily number 3 isn’t much of a problem because things do happen, interesting things, and there’s some more world-building. So that’s cool. It isn’t quite as interesting as part one but that’s just one of the hazards of the format, I guess. In one unbroken work I wouldn’t even notice it.

I look forward to part three!

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on July 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
