Fahrenheit 451

I just finished reading the comic book adaptation of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. In the foreword, which Bradbury wrote, he asks the reader to consider what book he or she would memorize to save from the flames.

I had a hard time deciding but I think I’d memorize Fahrenheit 451 itself. How very meta, you might say, but while yes, I was thinking that ;p it’s also because of the beautiful language Bradbury uses.

I first had to read it in 8th grade, and my teacher set an extra credit task of tallying up every metaphor Bradbury uses, listing the quotes and their page numbers. I don’t think he thought anyone would do it, but I did. I didn’t even need the extra credit. I just loved reading closely through and pulling out all the shiny jewels of language. It ended up being quite a thick packet and I suspect it still survives somewhere in a file or a box in my parents’ basement.

So, what book would you memorize and save?

~ by Amber on November 18, 2011.

3 Responses to “Fahrenheit 451”

  1. Love your blog!

  2. Awesome writing style!

  3. […] Remember how I wrote briefly about Fahrenheit 451 a couple of months back? […]

Leave a Reply

 
