Amber’s Goodreads review of Damned by Chuck Palahniuk

DamnedDamned by Chuck Palahniuk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Rant was the last good Palahniuk novel. Snuff was anticlimactic, the “me Chinee, me no dumb” narration of Pygmy drove me nuts, and Tellall was a predictable snooze. When I heard the description for Damned I was encouraged: YA and Hell? Yes, please.

After seeing the initial reviews on here I was hesitant but I thought, “Well, Chuck, if it’s like the last three then I’m not automatically buying your novels anymore.” I’m glad to say he has won me back.

Damned isn’t vintage Chuck, it’s no Fight Club or Invisible Monsters, and maybe there isn’t a solid plot but I enjoyed reading it. It interested me, and the vision of Hell is certainly unique. I liked seeing Madison’s growth in the afterlife. It ends with “to be continued,” and I hope he means it because I’d like to see the story go on.

View all my reviews

~ by Amber on November 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
