National Novel Writing Month: A Confession

I try to have one writing afternoon a week where I take at least an hour and just work on whatever my current writing project is. Now it’s National Novel Writing Month and everyone is hopping on the daily word count crunch. So here’s my dirty little secret as a (self) published author:

I never do NaNo. I never did. In the past I’ve used it as an excuse to resume a project (in the days before I made an effort to do a weekly writing day) or start writing exercises when I didn’t have a project going. But I never do NaNo. I never play along, sign up on the site, track my daily word count, write every single day, etc.

And sometimes I feel guilty about it. I mean, I’m a writer. I should be all about this. But I’m not. So instead I’m going to be a rebel and say it’s okay not to do NaNo. A lot of people enjoy it, a lot of people find ways to fit daily writing into their busy lives, but I’d rather chill about it.

And I don’t even have kids! I have a husband who’s in his last semester of his second bachelor degree so when there’s free time where he’s not doing homework, we steal it to spend together. I work an 8 hour day and then get home after running errands, make dinner, squeeze in a half hour workout, clean things up, etc. And I have a ton of hobbies: baking, crafts, art, reading, video games.

I know it’s only one month. I just can’t muster up the enthusiasm. Bully for you who can and do. Sometimes it serves as the kick in the pants or the excuse to write for people who can’t, won’t, or don’t the other 11 months of the year.

But if you’re a writer, and you don’t want to do it, and you feel like you have to and feel guilty and wonder what’s wrong with you: you’re not alone. Don’t sweat it. Maybe next year.

~ by Amber on November 2, 2011.

One Response to “National Novel Writing Month: A Confession”

  1. […] Novel Writing Month in November. I’ve never done it before, and I know that last year I wrote a post about how it’s okay not to do it, but I think I’m going to give it a shot. I don’t plan on signing up officially, but […]

Leave a Reply

 
